The Ballina Rugby Club was formed in December 1975 at a meeting at the Australian Hotel.. Initially the Ballina Rugby Club played its games at Clement Park, followed by Kingsford Smith Park before finding its home in 1983 at Quays Reserve. In the following years the Clubhouse was built and officially opened  on 3rd March 1985 with a match between the Australian Barbarians  and the President’s XV.


Ballina entered the Far North Coast Reserve Grade competition in 1976. They won their first match 28-6 against Grafton and went on to win the Premiership that year, beating Grafton again in the Grand Final at Coffs Harbour 12-0. The following year (1977) Ballina moved into the 1st Grade competition. The Club has never looked back since, adding Reserve grade to its ranks in 1978, ‘Thirsty’ Third grade in1985 and a under 19 team in 1987. For the first 4 years the club used the Flying Pelican as its emblem before replacing it in 1983 with the ‘Mighty Seahorse’.


The Senior grades have enjoyed much success over the years accumulating 34 Premierships amongst them since the Club began. 1993 seen the introduction of Junior Rugby grades to the Ballina Rugby Club. Their first Premiership came in 1998 by the under 13 team. Since then the Club has won 4 more Junior Premierships and competed strongly across all Junior grades and continues to do so.




Quays Reserve - Kalinga Street,

Ballina NSW 2478, Australia

Phone: 02 6686 6380